Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Mail Art Not War!

Advanced

Re: Mail Art's raison d'etre/Interview projects

Dragonfly Dream
Mail Art's raison d'etre
June 01, 2001 05:20PM
<HTML>Read this the other day and it made me think....
So what is Mail Art's raison d'etre???? And what will be it's end?
Some folks think the internet is mail art's end but I dissagree. Honoria would dissagree to I bet. And Ruud too.
I see the internet as expanding mail art.
But it's raison d'etre? Ummmm, what do you think? For me, as a kid I sent decorated envelopes to pen pals overseas. I painted birds and mermaids and used stickers alot. You should see my letters home to mom from camp. I was a mail artist before I knew what it was. Now I can't imagine not getting something wonderful in the mail box museum each day. I bum out on Sunday or holidays when no mail art comes. I'm already bumming about my future time in the hospital and the recovery time from my impending arm surgery. How will I do mail art with an arm in a sling????

Mail Art's raison d'etre.....communication,expression,venting,challenging,laughing,pissing someone off,makinglove,makingart,sendingart.....</HTML>
c
raison d\'etre
June 01, 2001 08:25PM
<HTML>because because</HTML>
raison d'etre
i post therefore i am
June 02, 2001 01:39PM
<HTML>I think Honoraria makes one good points about who should judge mail art. Right now it is wild and free and independent of the mainstream art movements. Nevertheless it shall be time/date stamped, sliced and diced and enter the history books in some form - probably starting with Ray and the NYCS - although their has been a history of art exchange amomg artists for a long time.